Uhuru’s dilemma of rewarding Jubilee’s loyal election losers

President Uhuru Kenyatta is faced with a big headache of rewarding top politicians who lost their coveted seats while supporting his reelection bid.

The high number of poll losers is a pool of expertise that will boost Uhuru’s bid to reorganise a new government and serve Kenyans better once he is inaugurated.

“Those who will lose during the nominations should support the winners since the government will accommodate everyone,” Uhuru said after distributing title deeds to squatters at the Chebyuk settlement scheme phase one on Mt Elgon last December 16.

Jubilee’s first term was rocked by corruption, nepotism and tribalism.

The president hopes the Supreme Court rules in his favour after the NASA’s petition, to fulfill a campaign promise that he will accommodate all Jubilee party and election poll losers in the government.

On Wednesday NASA said they will file a petition at the Supreme Court to protest against results announced by IEBC in favour of Jubilee.

“For the third straight election in a row, the voice of the people has been stilled, and for the third time in a decade, the candidate who lost the election has been declared the President,” NASA leader Raila Odinga said.

The main beneficiaries are politicians who campaigned against the NASA wave in the opposition strongholds.

The plum job positions in the government will provide a cosmetic image of an inclusive government. As a result, it will be easier for UhuRuto to campaign for Deputy President William Ruto in 2022.

“Both the President and the DP want people they can work with to unite the country and penetrate the opposition strongholds,” said our source.

They election losers include outgoing Bungoma Governor Kenneth Lusaka, Budalang’i MP Ababu Namwamba, Bumula MP Boniface Otsiula, Matungu MP David Were, Kisii Senator Chris Obure, Kilifi North MP Gideon Mung’aro, Kwale woman representative Zainab Chidzuga, Taita Taveta Women Rep Joyce Lay, Likoni MP Masoud Mwahima, Kilifi South MP Idd Mustafa, Karachuonyo MP James Rege and nominated Senator Joy Gwendo.

The second team comprises those who failed in Jubilee strongholds during the General Election and the party primaries.

A total of 9,654 candidates took part in the party primaries compared to 1,006 who vied on the Jubilee ticket in the poll.

Those who lost in this primaries included Runyenjes MP Cecile Mbarire, Starehe MP Maina Kamanda, Tigania East MP Mpuru Mburi, Kigumo MP Jamleck Kamau, Thika Town MP Alice Ng’ang’a, Dagoreti South MP Dennis Waweru, Nominated Senator Beatrice Elachi, Nakuru Governor Kinuthia Mbugua, Ainabkoi MP Samuel Chepkonga , Ainamoi MP Benjamin Lang’at, Saboti MP David Wafula, Nairobi woman representative Rachel Shebesh, Nyeri Town MP Esther Murugi, Othaya MP Mary Wambui, Kipipiri MP Samuel Gichigi, Gichugu MP Njogu Barua and former Gichugu MP Martha Karua.

Others on the list are the key public figures who stood with the current regime during the campaigns.

They will be accommodated in a government to work together with senior officials serving in the Jubilee administration and also heavily campaigned for Uhuru’s reelection.

Some are likely to go home in the reorganisation structure.

They include the business and elite community.

Key sources at Office of the President and State house said a good number will be nominated to the national assembly, join the diplomatic missions, serve in the national government, parastatal jobs.

“Some politicians will be given jobs away from the country to break their grassroots networks,” said our source.

Former CIC Chairman and Kisii senatorial candidate Charles Nyachae might be appointed as the speaker of the national assembly.

Woman charged with forging university degree certificate

Governor-elect Anne Waiguru’s swearing in venue shifted