Three voters seek top IEBC officials’ removal from office

Three voters have filed an urgent petition seeking to stop the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chief executive Ezra Chiloba and commissioners from overseeing the repeat presidential election.

Mr Brian Asin, Mr Ben Wanasakaami, and Mr Kevin Alwang’a have in their urgent petition filed on Friday, urged the High Court to bar the IEBC officials from holding the repeat elections as directed by the Supreme Court, arguing that their integrity to hold credible elections has been put in disrepute.

They have sued Mr Chiloba, Mr Wafula Chebukati (chairman), Ms Consolata Nkatha (vice chairman), and Commissioners Roselyn Akombe, Prof Abdi Guliye, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat, and Boya Molu.

The application will be heard next week.

The Supreme Court on Friday nullified the election of President Uhuru Kenyatta on grounds that the elections were not conducted in accordance to the Constitution and the applicable principles.

Nasa wants Wafula Chebukati and his team prosecuted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Court declares nurses’ strike illegal

Chebukati to make staff changes before fresh poll