State establishes new sub-counties ahead of August poll



The Government has announced the creation of eight new sub-counties and several divisions.

In a special issue of the Kenya Gazette obtained by The Standard, the Government has also given notice of the creation of hundreds of new divisions, locations and sub-locations across the country.

In a gazette notice dated June 21, Tongaren, Bura East, Tiaty East and Elang’ata-Wuas in Bungoma, Tana River, Baringo and Kajiado counties respectively have been named sub-counties.

So have Kotulo in Wajir County, Bananey in Garissa, Oloililai in Kajiado and Igambang’ombe in Tharaka Nithi.

Newly-created divisions in Nairobi include Ngara and Landi Mawe (Starehe sub-county), Huruma, Mlango Kubwa, Ngei, Kiamako and Mabatini (Mathare sub-county), Lindi (Kibra sub-county) and South C (Langata sub-county).


Should political parties abandon calls for six-piece voting pattern?

In Mombasa County, Mvita, Frere Town, Miritini, Longo, Mwakirunge, Kisauni and Port Reitz will now be divisions.

And in Kisumu County, Kolwa, Kajulu, Holo, Kisumu Central and Nyakach Central have been made divisions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Airport security officer sues after losing job for making Matiang’i queue

Safaricom set to upgrade M-Pesa with more features