Opposition chiefs sign agreement to formalise Nasa

Four opposition chiefs have signed an agreement creating a new political coalition, the National Super Alliance (Nasa).

The agreement is largely a framework of operations and highlights seven key pillars under which the coalition’s agenda will be anchored.

The agreement did not contain any deal of power sharing or how to nominate a joint presidential candidate.

The new alliance brings together the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), led by Mr Raila Odinga, Wiper party led by Mr Kalonzo Musyoka, Ford Kenya led by Mr Moses Wetang’ula and Musalia Mudavadi’s Amani National Congress (ANC).

While formalising the new alliance, the opposition leaders did not unveil any power sharing agreement.

Opinion: NASA forays into Narok inconsequential

DP Ruto says Nasa leaders only interested in political power