ODM primaries in Nakuru suspended over missing aspirants’ names

Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) primaries in Nakuru County have been suspended following irregularities that were discovered earlier Tuesday morning just as the exercise kicked off.

A new date for the primaries will be announced, according to the ODM county chairman, Mr Peter ole Osono.

The primaries were halted after some aspirants found their names missing on the ballot papers.

The county party officials immediately convened a meeting with aspirants following protests over the missing names and it was decided that the nominations be suspended to a later date.

Agents who were scrutinising ballot papers at Heshima and Kaptembwa primary schools polling centres discovered the names of two aspirants – Mr Eric Otieno Ogada and Mr Jacob Ogetii Luka – who are eyeing the Nakuru Town West parliamentary seat, were missing, resulting in a standoff.

Flanked by his supporters, Mr Ogada staged a protest at the constituency party offices over the omission of his name on the ballot paper.


The aspirants who addressed journalists at the Nakuru West ODM offices accused the incumbent MP Samuel Arama who decamped to Jubilee Party of colluding with their opponents to bar them from participating in the exercise in favour of a weak ODM candidate whom he can easily floor in the August polls.

“No nominations will be held if the missing names are not included. We call upon the ODM elections board to halt the exercise until the anomalies are rectified,” said Mr Ogada, who was accompanied by Mr Ogetii.

Mr Ogetii also called for the immediate suspension of the nominations, accusing Mr Arama of interfering with the primaries.


In Naivasha, nominations for the Olkaria Ward seat were halted after some of the aspirants disrupted the process, citing irregularities.

One of the aspirant’s for the seat, Mr David Kilo, was arrested over the disruption and locked up at Kongoni Police Station.

While addressing journalists at the party’s offices, Mr Ole Osono said he was consulting the party headquarters at Orange House on the next course of action after the suspension of the nominations.

“We all need fair, free and transparent nominations. To attain that all the candidates’ names must be on the ballot paper,” he said.

The confusion left voters who had turned up at the various polling centres as from early as 6am stranded.

The following is the list of various ODM aspirants in Nakuru:

Woman Rep

1. Ms Beatrice Pacifica Onsongo

2. Ms Asha Rashid Kurwa

Nakuru Town West Constituency

1. Philip Chibole Ndeta

2. James Machuka Michoma

3. Peter Kiplangat Koros

4. Eric Otieno Ogada

5. Alfred Kwonyike Kaptum

6. Hezron Okiki Othoo

7. Ochoki Andrew Osoe

8. Jacob Ogetii Luka

Nakuru Town East Constituency

1. Ms Rose Nyakiba

2. Ms Issa Samuel Okello

Kivumbini Ward

1. Neto Sakwa

2. Vitalis Okelo (Incumbent)

3. Risper Atieno

4. Rose Lai

5. Wilbur Onyango

6. Samuel Oyaro

Bullish Oil bets gain amid OPEC output cut

President Uhuru Kenyatta arrives in Kisumu, urges youth to shun violence