ODM leaders remain calm as members decamp to Wiper

There is a frenzy of political activity in Mombasa following the defection of 11 MCAs from the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM).

ODM, which is perceived to be the most popular party in Mombasa, has, however, been downplaying the defections saying the MCAs who left sensed defeat in the nominations and had lost touch with the electorate.

The Orange party leaders, who spoke to the Saturday Nation, said there is no cause for alarm as majority of the leaders are usually not re-elected.

The party swept all the 30 seats for elected MCAs in the county in the 2013 polls, four parliamentary seats and the gubernatorial position.

However, most of the MCAs crossed swords with Governor Hassan Joho after the polls.

They accused him of sidelining them and planting aspirants against them ahead of the August polls.

Most of the 11 MCAs have joined Wiper party, which is slowly gaining prominence in the county.

READ: Joho to blame for my defection to Jubilee – Katana

Kongowea MCA Jabes Oduor, who jumped ship, said Mr Joho should be blamed for the movements.

“There are four main reasons why we are leaving ODM in large numbers. The main one is Governor Joho’s high-handedness, the second and third reasons are the waning ODM grassroots popularity in the county and the increasing popularity of Wiper party in the area,” he said adding that they were also angered by Mr Joho’s move “to plant candidates against them”.

Mr Oduor further blamed Mr Joho of “overrunning” the party, as its deputy leader, using cronies.

He singled out nominated MCA Mohamed Hatimy whom he accused of frustrating other leaders at the whims of the governor.

Calls to the governor did not go through. Mr Joho was said to be in an official tour of the US.

But Mr Hatimy dismissed the allegations levelled against him saying he had not broken any law.

READ: Mombasa ward representatives leave ODM

Those said to have left were Duncan Onyango (Mikindani), Riziki Kitsao (Bamburi), Abubakar Golo (Majengo), Mohamed Madundo (Shika Adabu), Karisa Nzai (Jomvu Kuu, joined Jubilee), Khamisi Mwabashiri (Mjambere) and Nasser Rashid (Shimanzi).

Others are Enoch Mwadziwe, Beatrice Kai, Caroline Owino and Speaker Thaddeus Rajwayi.

Pan Paper Mill off to slow start after grand reopening

Senate launches probe into financial irregularities petitions against governors