ODM and LPK set to name the majority and minority leaders in Busia, assembly clerk Mabuka says

ODM will name the majority leader in the Busia assembly after garnering majority MCA seats, while the Labour Party of Kenya is set to name the minority leader.

ODM, a NASA affiliate party, has 17 elected MCAs. Other affiliates are Ford Kenya which has four MCAs, and Wiper and ANC have three MCAs each.

“NASA as a coalition can come together and name a majority leader as a combined force or ODM with majority members can name majority leader among the 17 elected members.

LPK with three members and Jubilee with one are minority in the assembly. Since LPK have more members they will pick [the] minority leader,” Busia assembly clerk Allan Mabuka said.

ODM’s Nangina MCA John Obwogo is favourite to take the majority leader slot.

LPK members include Felix Omanyi (Bunyala Central), Bartholomew Were (Bunyala West) and Evans Barasa (Agenga Nanguba).

Barasa may lose out if Obwogo is selected majority leader, as they come from the same constituency. This will leave Omanyi or Were.

Busia will also elect a new chief whip.

NSL action shelved

Drunken woman starts fire killing her, 5 children and destroying three businesses