New regional seed trade laws unveiled

Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Willy Bett photo:courtesy

National seed review teams from seven Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (Comesa) member states have launched harmonised national seed laws.

The teams from Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Malawi meeting in Nairobi backed the new laws meant to improve the movement of seeds across the region.

Agriculture Cabinet Secretary Willy Bett described the move as a historic opportunity to collectively reflect on how best to plan and mitigate risks that face the agriculture sector in the region.

 Historically, the regulatory environment surrounding seed production and certification has made it costly to do business in this sector, discouraging private sector companies from investing in innovation and expanded production.

 The new laws are expected to bring about consistency in seed certification.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Swazuri’s team to record statements at EACC over SGR land corruption

Boost for pensioners as Treasury puts in extra Sh5b budget request