Nairobi City residents send half of the legislators home

zuzqrel3by27xe8wnsnq598d08cb84540 Nairobi City residents send half of the legislators home

ODM Embakasi East Parliamentary ticket winner Babu Owino after ODM tallying at Nyayo National Stadium on Monday

The city is set to receive new faces in leadership after more than half of the members of the National Assembly were rejected in the elections. 

Among the new MP faces are a former comedian, a pop star and a student leader who is best remembered for rallying calls like “Tibiim!” and “Tialala!”

In Dagoretti South constituency, former Reddykulass comedy troupe member John Kiarie’s vote count showed he beat veteran Dennis Waweru by more than 40,000 votes.

Mr Waweru was contesting the seat as an independent candidate after losing the Jubilee Party nominations to Mr Kiarie, who is better known as KJ.

In Starehe, Jubilee candidate Charles Kanyi Njagua aka Jaguar beat his two major opponents – Steve Mbogo Ndwiga of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party and activist Boniface Mwangi – who vied through Ukweli Party.


Raymond Moi re-elected in Rongai Constituency

Student leader

In Embakasi East, former student leader Paul Ongili, who is popularly known as Babu Owino, edged out Jubilee’s Francis Mureithi after receiving the ODM party nomination ticket to take the position previously held by John Ogutu Omondi.

The former University of Nairobi student got 45,462 votes to win the seat.

The tables were also turned in the Opposition’s long-time stronghold of Lang’ata constituency by Jubilee’s Nixon Korir who beat ODM’s Oscar Omoke Ocholla by 1,000 votes.

The constituency had attracted more than 17 candidates, most of whom were from the National Super Alliance (NASA). Mr Korir garnered 40,057 against Mr Ocholla’s 39,036 votes. Judith Achieng Sijeny of Wiper party got 5,331 votes.

In Embakasi Central, Benjamin Gathiru Mwangi trounced his main rival from ODM, Hesbon Omondi. Mr Mwangi had defeated the incumbent John Ndirangu during the Jubilee party nominations.


MP finally wins after 43 years of trying

Multiple cases

Mwangi garnered 47,133 votes against Mr Omondi’s 36,970 votes. The election winner had won multiple court cases against the incumbent, who was determined to get the nomination ticket.

His counterpart in Embakasi South, Julius Musili Mawathe of Wiper party, barely managed to beat the incumbent, Irshadali Mohamed Sumra of ODM.

Mr Mawathe got less than 200 votes more the incumbent, beating Mr Sumra by 165 votes and garnering 33,174 from the five wards in the constituency.

Sumra said he appreciated his five years in office and assured the newly elected MP of his support.

“This was a tight and close race and Mawathe deserves the win. Embakasi South is greater than Mawathe and I. I’m willing to work with him,” said Sumra.

Jubilee’s Mercy Wanjiku Gakuya sent incumbent John Njoroge Chege, who vied as an independent candidate, packing in Kasarani constituency. Ms Gakuya got 73,736 votes against her closest rival, ODM’s Steven Paul Owino’s 17,083 votes. Mr Chege got 15,548 votes to come third.


Raymond Moi re-elected in Rongai Constituency

Former Nairobi Mayor George Aladwa Omwera won the Makadara parliamentary seat after defeating the incumbent, Jubilee’s Benson Mutura Kangara. Mr Omwera garnered 42,924 votes while Mr Kangara received 39,212 votes.

In Mathare, ODM maintained its dominance after lawyer Anthony Tom Oluoch defeated Steven Kariuki, who had ditched ODM to join Jubilee Party. Mr Oluoch got 41,813 votes against Kariuki’s 32,222 votes.

Main threat

And in Dagoretti North, ODM’s Paul Simba Arati shook off his main threat, Jubilee’s Beatrice Kadeveresia Elachi, with 48,349 votes against 33,425 votes.

TJ Kajwang’ also redeemed his name from allegations of influencing party nominations after retaining his seat in Ruaraka. Elizabeth Ongoro, who ditched ODM to join Amani National Congress after accusing ODM of sham nominations, came in a close second.

Mr Kajwang got 36,461 votes while Ongoro got 31,206.

Kibra’s Kenneth Odhiambo Okoth, Embakasi North’s James Mwangi Gakuya, Embakasi West’s George Theuri, and Kamukunji’s Yusuf Hassan Abdi retained their seats.

Other politicians who are returning to the National Assembly are Isaac Waihenya Ndirangu (Roysambu) and Timothy Wanyonyi Wetangula (Westlands).


MP finally wins after 43 years of trying

Raymond Moi re-elected in Rongai Constituency

Chaos at Nakuru West Constituency tallying centre as ODM candidate disputes results