Most Nairobi MPs may not retain their seats

research firm Infotrack PHOTO:COURTESY

Nairobi MPs will have a hard time retaining their seats in the August 8 elections if a recent poll is anything to go by.

 A survey by research firm Infotrack revealed that 44 per cent of Nairobi residents needed a change in leadership and would not vote their current MPs back into office.

However, if the elections were to be held today, a number of MPs would be re-elected. Westlands MP Tim Wanyonyi (64 per cent), Embakasi West MP George Theuri (62.9), Kibera MP Ken Okoth (60.9), Kamukunji MP Yussuf Hassan (53.6) and Mathare MP Steven Kariuki (50) would retain their seats.

 The MPs from the 17 sub-counties face an uphill task of defending their positions. There were however those that felt content with the current leadership and vowed to give the politicians another term.

 At the bottom of the poll were Embakasi East MP John Ogut (29.6 per cent) and Makadara’s Benson Mutura (28 per cent).


Kenya is in a constitutional crisis, NASA leaders declare

Police torture ‘Standard’ journalist for exposing human rights abuses

Education ministry to verify aspirants academic papers