MCAs swim against strong ODM tide, capture Kilifi seats

Eight MCA candidates swam against the ODM tide and were elected to the Kilifi county assembly.

Thomas Chengo from Tezo ward was elected as an independent candidate after losing in the ODM primaries.

Out of the 35 wards, ODM scooped 27 seats, while Kadu Asili got three seats. The Kadu Asili MCAs are Frank Fondo (Mariakani), Valentine Matsaki (Kambe-Ribe) and Benson Chengo (Ganze).

Ford Kenya won in Kaloleni ward (Yassin Mohamed) and Mnarani (Daniel Kitsao).

DPK, which was formed a few months to the election by former Kaloleni MP Gunga Mwinga (pictured), won one MCA seat through Maitha Masha (Jaribuni).

Speaking to the Star in Kilifi on Wednesday, Masha said the people of Jaribuni were unfazed by his opponents’ greater resources.

Elders storm Njuri Ncheke headquaters after splinter group banned them from site

Concede or run for lesser seat, Mt Kenya leaders advise Raila