Malindi MP Willy Mtengo loses ODM ticket to Aisha Jumwa

Kilifi Woman Representative Aisha Jumwa has been declared the ODM candidate for Malindi parliamentary seat after defeating incumbent William Mtengo with 8,436 votes.

Mr Mtengo lost the ticket together with his team of five MCA aspirants after garnering a total of 3,758 votes in Ganda, Malindi Town, Shella, Kakuyuni and Jilore wards.

On the other hand, Ms Jumwa together with four sitting MCAs and aspirant supporting her in her bid for Malindi parliamentary seat emerged victorious during the primaries.

They are Jared Chokwe (Malindi Town-760), Nixon Mramba (Kakuyuni-2,012), Adamson Mwathethe (Shella-1,675), Daniel Chiriba (Jilore-1,587) and Abdul Omar of Ganda ward with 1246 votes.

Returning Officer Samuel Ochieng’ declared Ms Jumwa the winner on Sunday morning at around 3am at Barani Secondary school in Malindi after tallying 23 polling stations across the constituency.

Ms Jumwa’s supporters gathered outside the tallying centre’s gate hours before she was declared the winner, chanting songs of victory following reports that she was leading in most polling stations.

They also chanted songs accusing Governor Amason Kingi of taking sides during the party nominations and urged the governor to step down from the gubernatorial position.

“Kingi must go! Kingi must go! Kingi must go! Mtengo must go!” filled the air as police officers tried to calm them down.

Addressing supporters after emerging the winner, Ms Jumwa urged her former ODM rival to support her in order to ensure the party retains the seat during the August General Election.

“I would also like to thank my supporters, the sitting MP Willy Mtengo and police officers who have ensured there are peaceful nominations,” she said adding that “it has been a success since nobody has been injured.”

Mr Mtengo had told the press at Mkaomoto Primary after casting his vote in his home turf that he is confident that he will defeat the woman rep and be the flag bearer.

Ms Jumwa will now battle out with Wiper Party’s Rashid Odhiambo, Dr Harry Mwimali, an independent candidate and Jubilee Party’s Philip Charo whom next week will be battling Mr Peter Mwawana for the JP ticket.

Yusuf Chanzu wins ANC ticket to vie for Vihiga governor’s seat

Intrigues that led to Jubilee Party’s failed nominations