Lamu Senator Chiaba trounced in Jubilee polls

Lamu Senator Mohammed Chiaba was defeated in the Jubilee Party nominations.

Mr Chiaba was beaten by 30-year-old Anwar Loitiptip in the party’s senatorial race.

The Long serving politician entered Lamu politics in 1992 as Lamu East MP but lost in 1997 polls. He made a comeback in 2002 elections and in 2013, he won the senate seat.

Mr Anwar garnered 3,868 votes while nominated MCA Monica Kirunyu was second with 2,337 votes. Mr Chiaba was third with 1,076 votes.

The results were announced by Lamu West Constituency Jubilee Primaries Returning Officer James Mungai Ndung’u early Friday morning.

Mr Chiaba conceded defeat shortly after the official announcement of the results and said he wished the winner well.

“I have accepted the Lamu people’s choice. I also take this opportunity to thank the people of Lamu for choosing me to represent them for over 20 years as MP and Senator. I wish them well,” he said.

Mr Chiaba also said he will continue supporting the party led by President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto.

He said he is ready to support and work together with all Jubilee aspirants.

Hindi MCA Abdul Kassim Ahmed won the Lamu West MP ticket.

Mr Kassim ditched ODM for Jubilee Party two months ago.

Reprieve for Bishop Wanjiru as court releases her on Sh100, 000 cash bail

North Korea says ready to strike U.S. aircraft carrier