Kisumu County gets 28 new administrative units

Twenty-eight new administrative units have been created in the county.

Through Kenya Gazette Notice Number 80 of June 21, 2017, the Ministry of Interior has created five divisions, seven locations and 16 sub-locations.

The new divisions include Central Nyakach in Nyakach sub-county, Kisumu Central in Kisumu town, Holo in Kisumu West and Kolwa and Kajulu divisions in Kisumu East.

The new units were created after lobbying by area leaders who said the current units were becoming ungovernable due to the fast growing population estimated to be slightly over 1.2 million.

County Commissioner Maalim Mohammed unveiled the new administrative units at an event in Nyakach Central.

“Apart from providing services to the people, the (new) areas will promote development and job creation, as the headquarters will attract investments and human traffic,” said Mr Maalim, adding that the units would become operational after the August polls.


Two vow to lock ODM out of Kisumu West


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Maintain peace during, after polls Governor Mutua urges fellow politicians

Trump asks Supreme Court to block travel ban ruling