Kirinyaga anxious as Waiguru, Gitari in nail biting finish

Latest results from Jubilee nominations in Kirinyaga County show a tight race between Kirinyaga Central MP Joseph Gitari Gachoki and former Devolution Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru.

Results for Ndia, Kirinyaga Central and Gichugu constituencies show the MP is leading and Ms Waiguru comes second while Governor Joseph Ndathi, who has already disputed the results is a distant third.

Vote counting in ongoing Mwea Constituency, the most populous in the county, and could affect the final tally.

Mr Gitari has garnered 37,632 votes in the three constituencies while Ms Waiguru is second with 33,233 votes. Mr Ndathi is third with 6,217 votes.

Mr Ndathi disputed the results claiming that the nominations were marred with irregularities.

He said he will hold a meeting with his supporters and advisors Wednesday to discuss his next move.

He alleged that few ballot boxes were delivered to his strongholds in Kiburia and Laimu polling stations.

The governor also said he did not participate in the exercise after angry voters burnt ballot materials in Rukenya polling station because names of eight MCA aspirants were missing.

Is Kenya’s 5.8pc GDP growth for real?

Dr Joyce Laboso clinches Bomet Jubilee gubernatorial ticket