Jubilee sets primaries for two days, assures aspirants of fair poll

The Jubilee Party has now rescinded its decision to conduct its high-stakes nominations in a single day, and will now hold them on April 21 and 25.

The party’s National Elections Board said it made the decision following an increase in the number of counties which will hold the primaries from 33 to 45.

At the same time, the board chairman Andrew Musangi said that the Jubilee ballot papers are fool proof.

“If you can produce the Jubilee ballot paper, then you can also produce the Sh100 note,” Mr Musangi says of its ballot papers.

Secretary-General Raphael Tuju also allayed fears of possible rigging of the Jubilee nominations.

“If you can rig the Jubilee process, please come to me and I’ll pay you money,” he said.

Mr Tuju assured aspirants that the process will be free and fair, and that the ballot papers are fool proof.

He said the papers have five security features including different colour codes for the different seats, unique serial numbers and a watermark he said only five people know.

Counties which will conduct nominations on April 21:

1. Kirinyaga

2. Elgeyo Marakwet

3. Meru

4. Uasin Gishu

5. Baringo

6. Bomet

7. Laikipia

8. Murang’a

9. Tharaka-Nithi

10. Kiambu

11. Nyandarua

12. Embu

13. Kericho

14. West Pokot

15. Nandi

16. Nakuru

17. Nyeri

18. Nairobi

19. Kajiado

20. Narok

21. Trans-Nzoia

22. Taita Taveta

Counties which will conduct nominations on April 25:

1. Lamu

2. Wajir

3. Mandera

4. Marsabit

5. Turkana

6. Samburu

7. Kilifi

8. Tana River

9. Mombasa

10. Kitui

11. Machakos

12. Makueni

13. Kakamega

14. Vihiga

15. Bungoma

16. Busia

17. Homa Bay

18. Migori

19. Kwale

20. Garissa

21. Nyamira

22. Isiolo

23. Kisii

Wiper aspirant charged over nomination chaos

Once again, NASA principals fail to meet