Jubilee rolls out lobby groups

The Jubilee Party has rolled out multiple lobby groups to help it push its campaigns in so-called swing vote regions and opposition strongholds.

The lobby groups complement the campaign forays being led by President Uhuru Kenyatta and Deputy President William Ruto across the country.

The party secretariat headed by Secretary General Raphael Tuju and Executive Director Winnie Guchu have been giving the groups support in their campaign to market UhuRuto.


Former Cabinet secretary Davis Chirchir and Jubilee Vice chairman David Murathe are also instrumental in coordinating logistics for the lobby groups.

The lobbies have concentrated their campaigns in the so-called swing vote regions as well as perceived strongholds of the National Super Alliance in a deliberate effort to secure President Kenyatta at least 25 per cent votes in at least 24 counties on August 8.

These regions include Machakos, Makueni and Kitui, Kilifi, Kwale, Mombasa, Tana River, Kisii, Nyamira, Kisumu, Migori, Busia and Kakamega.


Away from the groups being steered by politicians, First Lady Margaret Kenyatta and Mr Ruto’s wife Rachel have also immersed themselves in mobislising votes for their husbands, especially from the womenfolk across the country.

The First Lady has been meeting Maendeleo ya Wanawake members while Mrs Ruto has been holding prayer meetings which will culminate with a national prayer meeting on July 31 in Nairobi.

The lobby groups include Mbele Iko Sawa which is campaigning nationally and is led by Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria, Amos Kimunya, Joseph Maathai and Millicent Omanga. It is the most visible and has so far covered 31 counties.

UhuRuto Express Rift Valley branch is coordinated by Baringo Governor Benjamin Cheboi, Baringo Central MP Sammy Mwaita and Julius Kones.

UhuRuto Express Central is led by Kigumo MP Jamleck Kamau and Subukia MP Nelson Gaichuhie. The two Express groups have among them a host of MPs, some who are not defending their seats and others running as independents.


Radio personality Njogu Njoroge together with a host of secular and gospel musicians from Mt Kenya region have also been traversing the region in support of the President under a group called Uhuru Wetu.

There is also Tokelezea na UhuRuto youth initiative piloted by Ms Wambui Nyutu, Ongute Onyiso and former Bunge La Mwanchi chairman Jospen Nyongesa. The group seeks to persuade the youth to give re-elect the President.

In lower eastern there is Ukambani na UhuRuto led by Mwingi Central MP Joe Mutambo and prominent businessman Peter Muthoka. In Nyanza there is Kisii Siafu Movement for UhuRuto captained by Anthony Kibagendi who until recently was in ODM. In Western there is Western Kenya Silent Majority for UhuRuto spearheaded by George Aluvanse and Ambassador Yvonne Khamati.

In Migori Jubilee is also targeting Kuria community where there is Kuria Jubilee Movement led by Mwise. Nationally there   Sauti ya Wamama na UhuRuto led by Gloria Ndekei.

Political groups move to deploy agents at all polling stations.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Nicholas Biwott, Joshua Kulei and the empires they built under Moi

Amazon’s Bezos now world’s richest person, ‘Forbes’ says