Jubilee Party nominations row as Nakuru leaders differ

Former Kanu MP David Manyara addressing the press in Nakuru photo:standard

A row over the Jubilee Party list for members of the county assembly nomination slots has gone up a notch after party officials led by branch chairman David Manyara announced a new list.

Last week, Jubilee nominees led by County Assembly Speaker Susan Kihika submitted the contentious list to the party headquarters.

The list was however dismissed by locals and leaders who were not consulted as it was being crafted, sparking calls for an emergency meeting attended by Jubilee governor nominee Lee Kinyanjui and Bahati MP Kimani Ngunjiri.

The two differed with the team composed of 10 other parliamentary nominees, woman representatives and the nominee for the Senate seat.

During the meeting also attended by party nomination losers and the MCAs who won, it was resolved that a new list should be drawn.

Speaking to The Standard by phone, Mr Manyara said they had prepared a new list that would be released this week.


NASA launches door-to-door campaigns to get voters out

But nominated Senator Martha Wangari has told Kinyanjui and Ngunjiri off, saying the list that was submitted contained the names of people they proposed.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Sh1.2 billion Sigiri Bridge collapses

MP Ndegwa: Al-Shabaab talk meant to scare people from voting