Joho’s deputy Katana loses contest for senate seat

Mombasa deputy governor Hazel Katana was the biggest loser in the Jubilee Party primaries in the Coast today.

In Taita-Taveta, MP Naomi Shaban proved pundits wrong when she easily won the party ticket.

In Malindi, politician Philip Charo, who lost to ODM in last year’s tough parliamentary by-election, carried the day in the JP primaries.


Businessman Kassim Abdulsalam beat Ms Katana after he garnered 10,797 votes against the deputy governor’s 9,924 votes.

Mr Swabri Abubakar got 5,393 votes in the results announced at the Patel Samaj hall.

However, Ms Katana contested the results, saying the election was not free and fair.

“When we started this process we were told that it would be free and fair but that is not what we have witnessed,” Ms Katana said.

Mr Ashraf Bayusuf clinched the Nyali JP parliamentary ticket after garnering 1,404 votes.

His closest rival, Dr Sanjeev Agarwal, got 1,344 votes, with Mr Yasir Noor emerging third with 895.

In Changamwe constituency, Abdi Mohamed Daib won with 2,496 votes against his closest challenger Kibwana Abdalla who got 886 votes.

Mr Francis Oduor was third with 798 votes while Patrick Ngugi got 195 votes.

In Mvita constituency, Mr Shalo Omar won with 1,505 votes while Mohamed Salim was second with 1,310 votes, and Mr Mohamed Abas getting 502 votes.

In Kisauni, Mr Francis Lewah defeated his only challenger Tonny Thuku with 2,450 against 2,331 votes. In Taveta, Dr Shaban got 9,751 votes against Mr Mike Banton’s 5,661. 

Dr Shaban had a tough battle during the nomination campaigns against Mr Banton who seemed to have gained popularity in the constituency.

In Voi constituency, Mr Dishon Mngoda clinched the party’s ticket with 7,091 votes, thus beating his four opponents.

Ketraco director Patience Nyaoga got 2,289 votes, Boniface Maina 905, George Mwamodo 514 and Naomi Ndisha 1,729 votes. 

In Mwatate, Morris Mbondenyi won with 4,681 votes against his opponents Tole Mwakidedi and Alfred Maghanga who garnered 440 and 1106 votes, respectively.

Businesswoman Lydia Haika won the JP ticket to vie for Taita-Taveta County woman representative seat.

She got 24,197 votes, beating her opponent Ms Janet Mwawasi who got 13,349 votes.

In Wundanyi, Mr Simon Mwachia clinched the party’s ticket with 4,334 votes flooring Mr Eliston Mwasela (1,634 votes) and Mr Valim Mwakima.

Reports by Gitonga Marete, Lucy Mkanyika, Charles Lwanga, Fadhili Frederick, Galgalo Bocha and Brian Ocharo

Winners and losers in Mt Kenya Jubilee primaries

Social media users debate Raila-Kalonzo Nasa ticket