Five women headed for grand victory in governor and senate race


Joyce Laboso, Anne Waiguru and Charity Ngilu are on the verge of making history by becoming first female governors if they win in the hotly contested Bomet, Kirinyaga and Kitui counties respectively.

Results posted on IEBC portal from 6am indicate Joyce Laboso who is contesting for Bomet Governor seat on Jubilee party ticket is ahead with 179,389 votes against her rival, the incumbent Governor Isaac Ruto (Chama Cha Mashinani) who has 83,601 votes from 714 out of 728 polling stations.

In Kirinyaga Former Devolution Cabinet Secretary Ann Waiguru is leading with 145,638 votes, followed by Martha Karua who has 110,713 votes from 616 out of 659 polling atations. Both Ann Waiguru and Karua were drumming up support for President Uhuru Kenyatta’s re-election bid.

Kirinyaga Governor Joseph Ndathi has 4,218 votes and Independent governor candidate Bedan Kagai has garnered 9,006 votes so far.

In Kitui County, Charity Ngilu is ahead with 152,894 votes against David Musila(Independent) who has 101,145 votes while incumbent Governor Julius Malombe is having 65,024 votes from 1,299 out of 1,454 polling stations.

bcxqmlejctmj7598ad60caacab Five women headed for grand victory in governor and senate race
Margaret Kamar and Susan Kihika

On the other hand, Susan Kihika and Margaret Kamar are female candidates leading in the Nakuru, Uasin Gishu and Isiolo senate race.

In Nakuru, Susan Kihika who is contesting on Jubilee ticket is leading with 631,231 votes ahead of (Orange Democratic Party) ODM’s Samuel Ogada who has 55,072 votes.


IEBC sacks three returning officers over delays

Margaret Kamar of the Jubilee Party is leading with 219,398 votes against Independent candidate Robert Rotich who has 83,934 votes from 829 out of 868 polling stations. ODM’s Thomas Kipkurui Murgor has so far garnered 15,734 votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Opposition will only accept results if they are free, fair and credible, Wetangula says

History made as Runyenjes constituent elect first Akorino MP