Exclusive: List of EALA Applicants, Former MPs and Close Allies of Raila Uhuru Top the List

Kenya News:

EALA applications

Twenty seven former MPs are among 208 Kenyans who have applied to be considered for the 9 Kenyan slots in the East Africa Legislative Assembly.

Among the prominent applicants in the Jubilee list include former MPs Simon Mbugua, Moses Ole Sakuda, Danson Mungatana, Mpuru Aburi, James Omingo Magara, former Kisii Senate candidate Charles Nyachae among others.

In the opposition list, Hon Oburu Oginga, Kennedy Kalonzo, Hon Timothy Bosire Hon Thomas Mwadeghu, Silas Jakakimba and NASA CEO Norman Magaya top the list.

Twenty four others have applied as independent candidates.

The Senate and National Assembly will now form a joint select committee to vet the applicants and shortlist successful candidates who’ll later be voted for on the floor of the house although Jubilee has insisted NASA will only be entitled to 3 out of the 9 slots.

EALA activities stalled after Kenya delayed in sending her nominees to the regional assembly following differences between NASA and Jubilee in the last Parliament on the election of process.

Kenya News 

Uhuru Kenyatta invites Raila Odinga to his swearing-in party

Cotu, European Commission to hold talks on economic pacts