Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country

Kenyans from all walks of life woke up early as 1:00 a.m. to vote, in one of the most hotly-contested polls in Kenya’s history.

Voting began at 6:00 a.m. with no major hitches reported in most polling stations.

In the past, voters had to queue for hours but during this election, each polling station was handling an average of 700 voters. 

The use of modern technology in voter identification means poll clerks are not turning pages of print-outs to identify and authenticate voters. As soon as a voter produces his ID or passport, biometrics take over the identification process.

6:00PM: Voting ends in most polling stations in Kitui. Opening of ballot boxes for sorting and counting began shortly after at Kitui Central Primary school. Polling station had 634 registered voters with a turnout of 69.9%. 

5:30PM: Former President Mwai Kibaki votes at Munaini Primary School in Othaya

wdqvkfqfopunwrcjcfi5989d5d55af71 Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
Kibaki votes in Othaya.

5:08PM:  Voting ends at Machakos GK Prison. Vote counting began shortly after. 


Raila: We have no faith in voters list

4:30PM: Nyamira County official Douglas Bosire arrested over bribery allegation and Sh1m recovered, county police boss Titus Ndung’u confirms.

4:10PM: IEBC says one can only vote at the polling centre where they are registered negating fake updates circulating on social media. One of the false updates reads, “If you know someone who is registered, but not in the area they registered, alert them to go nearest polling station and vote for president”.

4:00PM: Heavy downpour in Molo constituency, Nakuru County slows down voting in most polling stations like Tayari primary, Mianzini secondary, Molo secondary, Turi and Sulgwita primary. Voters forced to shelter in verandahs as classrooms remain closed.

3:43PM: IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati says polling centres where voting started late to remain open for a duration equivalent to the delay.

ufqvgpopsh3ly25989bd2ed7dce Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
Wafula Chebukati during the second IEBC briefing at Bomas of Kenya.

3:00PM: Independent candidate for Nakuru governorship John Mututho casts his vote at Milimani primary school in Naivasha, he says the exercise was free and fair. The number of voters dropped drastically with just two hours to go, majority have already voted.

kvgzezo2or9tmbgvi5989ba632819d Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
John Mututho casts his vote at Milimani Primary School in Naivasha.

2:00PM: Presidential candidate Prof Michael Wainaina votes at PCEA Mai-a-Ihii primary school in Kikuyu.


Kabogo storms secret meeting between IEBC and Waititu

1:20PM – IEBC Chief Executive Officer Ezra Chiloba notes that the clerk in changamwe (Kennedy Mulwa) who was caught issuing double ballot papers will be held responsible for his actions.

tgjaf9zmb98qje598993bd218cd Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
IEBC Chief Executive Officer, Ezra Chiloba.

12:57 PM – Heavy rains disrupt the exercise in Rarieda shortly after area Member of Parliament Nicholas Gumbo casts his vote at Memba primary school.

relgdcfs6qrmxil5989907ed431d Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
Memba primary school.

12:30PM – Ruaraka Constituency, TJ Kajwang’ has cast his vote at Heidemarie Mathare primary school, Utalii Ward.

12:10PM – Machakos gubernatorial candidate Wavinya Ndeti votes at Athi River social hall.

uvsj7z7ral9dofet5989845fbec5c Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
Machakos gubernatorial candidate Wavinya Ndeti. (Photo: Standard)

11:45AM – Opposition leader and NASA presidential candidate Raila Odinga votes in Kibra Constituency.

mbcrepyfgl1b5nul59897e1839d84 Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
NASA Presidential candidate Raila Odinga voting.

11:30AM – President Uhuru Kenyatta is guided by an IEBC official in Gatundu as he casts his vote.

qxure0q6ghqdkhizuz59897999f2c3d Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
President Uhuru Kenyatta

11:05AM – Deputy President William Ruto praises Kenyans for waking up early to exercise their democratic rights. He also praises the IEBC for proper organisation of the polls.


Hundreds of polling centres out of network coverage

10:54AM – Deputy President William Ruto voting at Kosachei primary school in Turbo Constituency, Uasin Gishu. 

lwvalajizuhmzinips59896ed31fc78 Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
Deputy President William Ruto

10:20AM – Nairobi County Woman Representative candidate Esther Passaris votes at Farasi Lane primary school in Westlands.

xgpncnanonqnq59896c9432ca6 Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
Nairobi County Woman Representative candidate Esther Passaris. (Photo: Courtesy)

10:05AM – Nairobi Governor Dr Evans Kidero as he is about to cast his vote.

ihmdidg8sx9zad59896adc6427f Decision 2017: How Kenyans voted across the country
Dr Evans Kidero (Photo: Courtesy)




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Written by standard media

The Standard Group Limited is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services, as well as outdoor advertising. The Standard Group is recognised as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest. Our various media platforms include: The Standard newspaper, KTN, KTN News, Radio Maisha, The Nairobian weekly newspaper, Think Outdoor (billboard advertising) and Standard Digital.

Governor Mutua blames his opponents for voter bribery in Machakos

Rival camps clash in Mandera ahead of Jubilee rally