Cyrus Jirongo skips voting at his polling centre in Kakamega

Presidential candidate Cyrus Jirongo did not vote in the fresh presidential election on October 26.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate was among eight candidates gazetted by the electoral commission to run for President after the court set aside a against him.


Mr Jirongo did not show up to cast his ballot at the Lumakanda Township Primary School in Lugari Constituency, Kakamega County, where he is registered as a voter.

The polling station has 694 registered voters and only 82 people voted.

President Uhuru Kenyatta got 80 votes, while National Super Alliance (Nasa) leader Raila Odinga and Thirdway Alliance leader Ekuru Aukot got one vote each.

Although voting kicked off smoothly in all the159 polling stations in the area, it recorded less than 10 per cent turnout.

The region is considered Nasa zone. The coalition had called for a of the October 26 repeat presidential election.


In Malava sub-County, considered a Jubilee zone, with Mr Kenyatta got 7,822 votes while Mr Odinga got 409 votes, despite withdrawing from the race.

The sub-County has 82,136 registered voters.

In Navakholo Constituency, whose area MP Emmanuel Wangwe was elected on the Jubilee ticket, Mr Kenyatta got 4,498 votes out of 53,620 registered voters.

Likuyani Constituency has 63,311 registered voters and the President garnered 4,684 votes.

In the August 8 election, Mr Kenyatta garnered 242,388 votes in Kakamega County and four legislators won on the Jubilee ticket.

On Friday, residents questioned where the legislators got to win in August, claiming the MPs were unable to convince people to vote for their party leader – President Kenyatta.

Seven people admitted to hospital in Kisumu with gunshot wounds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Drop a Comment Below

Written by Daily Nation

The Nation Media Group (NMG) founded by His Highness the Aga Khan in 1959 has become the largest independent media house in East and Central Africa. It has been quoted on the Nairobi Stock Exchange since the early 1970s.

MP Charles Njagua fails to stop Saturday repeat presidential election

Police battle rival gangs in Kawangware