Cycle of one-term MPs continues in Kisauni constituency

Ali Mbogo’s (pictured) victory as Kisauni MP continues the history of one-term MPs in the vast constituency.

No MP has served two terms in Kisauni, except the former Coast kingpin Karisa Maitha, however, he did not complete his second term. He died midway through it in 2004.

Kisauni is the biggest of all the six constituencies in Mombasa county, with 126, 151 registered voters.

However, only 75,223 turned out to vote, representing 59.63 per cent voter turnout.

Mbogo (Wiper) garnered 34,898 votes against immediate former MP Rashid Bedzimba (ODM) who got 29,752 votes.

The businessman had predicted his victory on June 11 last year, saying history always repeats itself and that Bedzimba had not done enough to secure reelection.

“In the history of Kisauni, no leader has served for two full terms. If you don’t develop Kisauni, you will be voted out,” said Mbogo, who was addressing residents at Sheikh Khalifa Secondary School then.

Said Hemed was the last politician to represent Kisauni on the Kanu ticket in the single party system from 1988-1992, before he was defeated by Rashid Mzee of Ford Kenya.

Mzee served for a single term and was voted out in favour of DP’s Maitha in 1997.

Maitha was the first Kisauni MP to win re-election in 2002 under Narc, but died two years later in Germany.

In the 2004 by-election, Ananiah Mwaboza won the seat through NLP, but was defeated in 2007 by Hassan Joho, who was in ODM.

Six month-old baby clobbered by police during Kisumu protests dies

NASA chief agents demand late pay, some flee homes for fear