County bosses’ swearing-in starts tomorrow, runs a week

The handover and swearing-in of governors-elect is to begin tomorrow, soon after their names are gazetted.

The events will be presided over by judges. The gazettement is expected to be done today after the Attorney General approved notices yesterday.

The swearing in will run through next Thursday.

The first swearing-in will be in Mandera. Governor Ali Roba will be sworn in tomorrow at the Moi Stadium. The final swearing-in will be in Nandi county at the Kapsabet Showground.

This will be the first transition ceremony under the 2010 Constitution and will involve 23 governors handing over power.

Twenty-four will serve their second and final term.

The Judiciary has assigned Justice Weldon Korir and magistrate Evans Maker to swear in Mombasa Governor Hassan Joho.

In Nairobi, Governor-elect Mike Sonko will be sworn into office by Justice David Majanja and magistrate Paul Mulwa.

Justice Dora Chepkwony and magistrate Julius Ng’arng’ar will swear in Kisumu Governor-elect Anyang’ Nyong’o.

Nakuru’sLee Kinyanjui will be sworn in by Justice Justus Bwonwonga and magistrate Godfrey Oduor

Council of Governors chairman and Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok will be sworn in by Justice James Wakiaga and magistrate Mwangi Mwangi.

Justice Mwongo’s circular says judges will administer the Oaths-Affirmation of Office and witness the signing of the Certificate of Inauguration.

Speaking in Nairobi, Devolution CS Mwangi Kiunjuri said the Chief Justice had rolled out a list of magistrates who will oversee the ceremonies. Kiunjuri said assumption of office committees had been set up to oversee a smooth transition.

Don’t take money from accounts, Sonko tells Kidero

Panyako back to nurses’ union for strike talks with new CoG