Chama Cha Mashinani party leader and Jubilee-leaning MPs among those voted out


lodkffubkzs2g0gpcloz598b80cdc06ce Chama Cha Mashinani party leader and Jubilee-leaning MPs among those voted out
Bomet Governor Isaac Ruto

Bomet Governor Isaac Ruto, Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale, and Budalang’i MP Ababu Namwamba are among the casualties in this year’s highly competitive election.

Provisional results from IEBC show Ruto, who is also the Chama Cha Mashinani party leader, with 83,601 votes against National Assembly Deputy Speaker Joyce Laboso’s 172,389.

The governor’s decision to cross over to the National Super Alliance (NASA) as one of its co-principals appears to have cost him his seat, making Laboso to be one of the first women county bosses in the country.

Convincing lead

Kakamega Governor Wycliffe Oparanya appeared to enjoy a convincing lead with 370,855 votes, representing 70.40 per cent of the votes cast, against Senator Khalwale’s (Ford-Kenya) 130,343 votes, translating to 24.74 per cent.

In Busia County, Labour Party leader Namwamba was floored by former MP Raphael Wanjala (ODM). Wanjala garnered 13,393 against Namwamba’s 11,240 votes. Namwamba has disputed the results.


Two shot dead as police battle demonstrators

Other MPs in the western region who appeared destined for the political cold were David Were (Matungu, Jubilee), Andrew Toboso (Butere, independent), Benjamin Andola (Khwisero, independent), and Silverse Anami (Shinyalu, independent), who were trailing their competitors by the time of going to press last evening.

Mombasa Senator Hassan Omar (Wiper) was also no match for Governor Ali Hassan Joho (ODM). Tallying from 888 out of 934 polling stations showed Omar had 41,462 votes while Joho was leading with 210,155 votes.

In Nyanza, long-serving Rongo MP Dalmas Otieno (independent) lost to businessman Paul Abuor. He had 9,129 against the winner’s 39,030.

Kisumu Governor Jack Ranguma, who was defending his seat as an independent candidate, also appeared to be exiting the stage with more than 90 per cent of votes tallied giving his closest rival, Senator Anyang’ Nyong’o (ODM), the lead.

Ranguma, however, rejected the results that had him with 146,218 votes against Nyong’o’s 260,072.

Kiambu Governor William Kabogo (independent) lost to Ferdinard Waititu (Jubilee) and conceded defeat. By 6pm yesterday, Waititu had 738,735 votes against Kabogo’s 198,655.


Two shot dead as police battle demonstrators

“My life hasn’t stopped. My former life goes on,” said Kabogo while conceding defeat.

Some MPs who were among the governor’s fiercest critics such as Alice Ng’ang’a (Thika) and Kigo Njenga (Gatundu North) also seemed to have followed Kabogo into political wilderness after results indicated they were on the verge of losing their seats.

In Kitui County, former MP Charity Ngilu (Narc) appeared poised to take the governor’s seat, opening a wide lead with 162,501 votes against the incumbent, Julius Malombe’s (Wiper), 71,611.

Former minister for East African and Regional Cooperation Musa Sirma lost the Eldama Ravine parliamentary seat for the third time. Sirma, who was contesting as an independent candidate, lost to Jubilee Party candidate Moses Lessonet by 463 votes.

In Kajiado County, Governor David Nkedianye (ODM) appeared to be fighting to stay afloat with former Interior Cabinet minister Joseph ole Lenku poised for victory. Tallying from 729 polling stations had Lenku with 161,087 against Nkedianye’s 132,808.

In Kuresoi South constituency, former Kanu strongman Zakayo Cheruiyot (CCM) was among the big casualties of the 2017 election.

Mr Cheruiyot, a former National Security permanent secretary in President Daniel Moi’s government, was trailing former Nakuru County education chief officer Joseph Tanui (Jubilee), who opened a lead of 29,314 votes against Cheruiyot’s 5,134 with 64 per cent of votes tallied.


How swing counties did wonders for Jubilee

At the Coast, Taita Taveta Governor John Mruttu (independent) disputed results that showed him trailing Wiper candidate Granton Samboja. 

Gitobu Imanyara concedes defeat in Central Imenti, Independent candidate on the lead

Egypt investment bank gets brokerage licence