Central, Rift Valley counties give ANC wide berth

Amani National Congress (ANC) has failed to attract any aspirant in 10 counties from Rift Valley and Mount Kenya region even as it announced nomination dates.

The former deputy Prime Minister Musalia Mudavadi-led party, a member of the National Super Alliance (Nasa), has however attracted aspirants for various seats in 37 of the 47 counties.

This was revealed by the party’s national elections board chairman Martin Etyang’ on Monday when he announced ANC had decided to hold nominations between April 3 and 20.

Another Nasa affiliate party, the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) last week said it will hold its primaries between April 7 and 22.

“The dates for nominations in various counties have been staggered to enable candidates with petitions to file them with the Internal Disputes and Resolution Committee so that they can be heard by April 26,” said Prof Etyang’.

He asked those who want to contest on an ANC ticket to file their nomination papers by March 24, failure they will be locked out.

Busia, Kakamega, Bungoma, Vihiga and Trans Nzoia will be the first batch of counties to hold their primaries on April 3, with Lamu and Taita Taveta closing the list of 37 on April 20.

The exercise will be held on April 5 in Kisii, Nyamira, Migori and Homa Bay while Siaya, Kisumu, Bomet and Narok will hold theirs on April 7.

Kericho, Laikipia and Nakuru will hold the nominations on April 8, and a day later, Coast counties of Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale, Lamu, Tana River will also have theirs.

On April 11, Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Kitui will hold the primaries, while Nairobi, Kajiado, and Machakos will hold theirs April 13.

Isiolo, Meru and Embu will hold theirs on April 15, giving turn to Turkana, West Pokot and Elgeyo Marakwet two days later.

Prof Etyang’ awakened debate on whether the National Super Alliance (Nasa) will hold joint primaries as he waded into the issue.

“That is a decision that has not been made. We are yet to form the Nasa elections board,” said Prof Etyang’.


April 3: Busia, Kakamega, Bungoma, Vihiga, Trans Nzoia.

April 5: Kisii, Nyamira, Migori and Homa Bay.

April 7: Siaya, Kisumu, Bomet, Narok.

April 8: Kericho, Laikipia, Nakuru.

April 9: Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale, Lamu, Tana River.

April 11: Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Kitui.

April 13: Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos.

April 15: Isiolo, Meru, Embu.

April 17: Turkana, West Pokot, Elgeyo Marakwet.

April 20: Lamu, Taita Taveta.

David Makali finally resigns from Labour Party of Kenya

ODM downplays Uhuru, DP Ruto’s Gusii tour