Boost for Kanu as several aspirants in Trans Nzoia defect

Independence party Kanu has got a boost in Trans Nzoia after receiving a number of political aspirants who have defected from both Ford Kenya and the Jubilee parties.

Ms Diana Muyoka Lukosi, who is eyeing the senate seat, and Ms Milca Psiwa, who is seeking the Saboti parliamentary seat, defected to the cockerel party from Jubilee, citing lack of democracy.

Trans Nzoia County government’s head of protocol, Robert Wamalwa, who has shown interest in the Kiminini parliamentary seat, also ditched Ford Kenya, saying he fears that current MP Chris Wamalwa will be favoured in the nominations.

Aspirants forward seats who have also joined the party include David Simiyu (Kwanza), David Mutambo (Chepchoina), Moses Langat and Isaac Ndiema (Kinyoro), James Kwalia and Renson Kapchanga (Saboti).

“The move by the defectors to come to KANU shows that they have trust in our ideals. We are not going to be lightweights like our opponents think,” said Trans Nzoia Kanu interim chairman Pius arap Kauka.

Meanwhile, the number of gubernatorial aspirants who want to challenge Governor Patrick Khaemba on the Ford Kenya ticket continue to grow with three new contenders declaring interest in the seat.

They are Moses Khaoya, Andrew Wanyonyi and John Mutenyo.


Trans Nzoia Ford Kenya Secretary Martin Waliaula said the four contestants will be subjected to a free and fair nomination process that will ensure the best candidate is picked to ensure the party does not lose the governorship to the Jubilee party.

At the same time, Jubilee Party has attracted seven aspirants for the governor’s seat.

They include Kakai Bissau, Festus Mukoya, Joel Gesuka, Joshua Sang’, Bethwel Kirior, Martin Ngomati and former Minister Noah Wekesa.

Water Cabinet Secretary Eugene Wamalwa is still undecided on whether he will join the race or not.

Cofek to sue State over advertisements ban

KWS supplies water to wild animals in Lamu