Big names humbled as 166 MPs thrashed by minnows

Kenyans sent home most of their National Assembly representatives in a clear sign of discontent with their five-year performance.

While only 40 per cent of MPs recaptured their seats, all but 10 woman representatives were re-elected.


Sakuda loses MP seat to his former student

Of the 290 constituency seats, 166 MPs were voted out across the country. Only 119 of the lawmakers in the 11th Parliament made it back.

This means three of five MPs in the last Parliament were voted out.

Comeback kings

Residents of Isiolo, Kirinyaga, Laikipia, Kericho and Mandera counties kicked out all their National Assembly representatives in a purge that has ushered in new MPs and saw former legislators make a comeback.

In Kilifi, Wajir, Kisii, Murang’a, Samburu, Nyeri and Nyandarua, only one MP survived the onslaught.

In these counties, William Kamoti (Rabai), Keynan Wehliye (Eldas), Jimmy Angwenyi (Kitutu Chache North) Alice Muthoni (Kandara), Musa Lentoimanga (Samburu North), Kanini Kega (Kieni) and David Kiaraho (Ol Kalou) made it back in the seven counties.

Some of the big names floored in the polls are Jakoyo Midiwo (Gem), Dennis Waweru (Dagoretti South) Samuel Chepkonga (Ainabkoi), Alice Ng’ang’a (Thika Town), Timothy Bosire (Kitutu Masaba), Thomas Mwadeghu (Wundanyi), Ababu Namwamba (Budalang’i), Paul Otuoma (Funyula) and David Ochieng (Ugenya).

Of the 47 woman representatives in the 11th Parliament, only 10 made a comeback. They include Beatrice Nkatha (Tharaka), Rose Mumo Museo (Makueni), Sabina Chege (Murang’a), Joyce Emanikor (Turkana), Maison Leshoomo (Samburu), Janet Nangabo (Trans Nzoia), Soipan Tuya (Narok), Florence Mwikali (Busia), Christine Omabaka (Siaya) and Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay).


Sakuda loses MP seat to his former student

Former Woman Representatives from Mombasa Mishi Mboko and Kilifi’s Aisha Jumwa were both elected in Likoni and Malindi constituencies.

Some former MPs who made a comeback are Joshua Kuttuny (Cherang’any), Jeremiah Kioni (Ndaragwa), Amos Kimunya (Kipipiri) and Maoka Maore (Igembe North) who was in the 9th parliament.

Two of the former MPs, Irungu Kang’ata (Kiharu) and Mithika Linturi (Imenti East), successfully run for Senate. They will now move to the upper house to represent Murang’a and Meru counties respectively.

Gideon Mung’aro (Kilifi North) and Hezron Awiti(Nyali) opted not defend their seats but go for other posts. Their colleagues Gideon Mung’aro, Hezron Awiti, Oyugi Magwanga, Paul Otuoma, Jackson Kiptanui, Patrick Ntutu, Jamleck Kamau, Thomas Mwadeghu, Joseph Gitari and Cecily Mbarire were unsuccessful in their bids for governor.

Biggest casualties

During the 2013 General Election, four independent candidates made their way to Parliament. They included Wesley Korir (Cherang’any), John Serut (Mt Elgon), Gatobu Kinoti (Buuri) and Patrick Musimba (Kibwezi West). Of the four, only Mr Musimba managed to get another term.

Six more women were elected as members of the National Assembly from various constituencies of the country in 2017 to raise the number to 23.


NASA: We will not accept computer-generated leaders

The casualties were much higher in the Woman Representative race across the country, with voters sending home 32 out of the 47 county women MPs. This means that the political careers of four out of five Women Representatives (68 per cent) came to an abrupt end on August 8.

In the last election, five women — Mishi Mboko (Mombasa), Aisha Jumwa (Kilifi), Rachel Ameso (Kakamega), Dorcas Kedogo (Vihiga) and Eusilah Ng’eny (Uasin Gishu) — opted to run for constituency seats. Only Mishi and Jumwa made it back.

There was equally a high-turn-over in the senatorial race, with only 14 of the 35 senators who sought a second mandate making a comeback.

But the upper house will also welcome three elected women senators — Margaret Kamar (Uasin Gishu), Susan Kihika (Nakuru) and Fatuma Dullo (Isiolo).

[email protected]

IEBC officials arrested for trying to destroy 16 ballot boxes

NASA dismisses claim it has not served parties with poll petition