Big names dominate IEBC’s list of nominated MPs and Senators

The electoral commission has gazetted Kenya National Union of Teachers (Knut) Secretary General Wilson Sossion as a nominated MP, despite the unionist publicly declining the offer.

Sossion is listed among the 12 nominated members of the National Assembly in the special gazette notice published on Friday by the Independent Boundaries and Electoral Commission (IEBC).


Teachers threaten to boycott work ahead of third term

Big names of cronies, loyalists, losers in party primaries and political honchos dominate the list of the nominees with Jubilee Party and the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), taking a lion’s share of the slots in the National Assembly and Senate.

Notable individuals

Out of the 32 positions, Jubilee got 10 out of the 20 nominated senators and six out of the 12 nominated MP slots. ODM got seven Senate seats and three national assembly posts. Among those nominated to the Senate include Beth Mugo and ODM Secretary General Agnes Zani. Former MPs Maina Kamanda (Starehe), Cecily Mbarire (Runyenjes), Rose Nyamunga (Kisumu County) and Dennitah Ghati (Migori County) have been handed political lifelines, as they have been gazetted as MPs in the notice. Kamanda and Mbarire did not contest in the last polls after losing in the Jubilee party primaries. Their two other former colleagues in the 11th Parliament decided to take the same move after they lost in the ODM nominations.

Former MPs Mary Senata (Kajiado County), Isaac Mwaura (nominated) and Judith Pareno (EALA) have been nominated to the Senate. Senata and Mwaura both lost in the primaries. Pareno is the ODM National Elections Board chairperson.

Other notable individuals from Jubilee in the list include Gideon Keter, the Party’s Youth League President, David Ole Sankok, the chair of the National Council of People with Disabilities and City lawyer Jennifer Shamalla, a vocal defender of Jubilee in TV talk shows.

Musalia Mudavadi’s Amani National Congress (ANC) will be represented in the National Assembly by Secretary General Geoffrey Osotsi and in the Senate by the Elections Director Petronilla Lokorio. Nairobi Women’s Representative losers Millicent Omanga and Beatrice Kwamboka Makori of Jubilee and ODM, respectively, will serve in the Senate.

Others in the National Assembly include Mucheke Yusuf of Jubilee, Jacqueline Oduol (ODM), Nasri Ibrahim (Ford Kenya) and Sammy Seroney (Wiper Democratic Movement).

Milgo Chepkorir, Christine Gona, Falhada Iman, Naomi Wago and Pregei Victor are the other senators nominated by Jubilee, while Farhiya Ali Haji, Masitsa Shiyong, Getrude Inimah and Mercy Chebeni are from ODM. Representatives for Kanu and Wiper in the Senate are Abshiro Halake and Sylvia Kasanga, respectively.


Details of Uhuru’s case against Raila

Jubilee tells off NASA MPs over threat to skip swearing in

Man, 26, commits suicide in police cell toilet