Ainabkoi MP loses Jubilee primaries by 129 votes

National Assembly Legal Affairs Chairman Samuel Chepkonga has lost the Jubilee nominations for Ainabkoi constituency in Uasin Gishu County by a paltry 129 votes.

Mr William Chepkut garnered 13,685 votes while the MP got 13,556 votes.

The lawmaker has said he will challenge the results citing a number of irregularities led to his loss.

“There was serious interference of the nominations. There was no fairness and did not meet my legitimate expectations. Two polling stations were left open until 3 am on Wednesday yet they were supposed to be closed at 5 pm on Tuesday. This opened the way for interference,” the MP told the Nation.

Mr Chepkut is a long time personal aide of former powerful Kanu-era Minster Nicholas Biwott.

Moiben MP Sila Tiren won the Jubilee ticket giving himself a bigger chance to retain his seat in August General Election.

Mr Tiren, who has branded himself as a defender of farmers in Uasin Gishu, got 9,968 votes against his closet rival Mr Mutwol Mongun who got 6,308.

He was the second MP to win in the Jubilee primaries in Uasin Gishu after Kapseret MP Oscar Sudi won earlier.

Mr Sudi garnered 15, 864 votes against Mt Steve Kewa’s 8831. Other MPs were trounced in the primaries.

They included Soy MP Edward Barchilei, who was defeated by Mr Caleb Kositany, Kesses legislator James Bett was beaten by Dr Swarup Mishra.

Elsewhere, Uasin Gishu County Commander Samson Kinne has praised residents of Uasin Gishu County for maintaining peace and order during Jubilee Party primaries.

Mr Kinne said no violence was witnessed since the nominations began.

Jubilee Party primaries kick off smoothly in Taita-Taveta

Delays, missing names mar Mombasa Jubilee polls