67 parties submit nomination rules to IEBC

The electoral agency has received nomination rules from 67 political parties preparing to participate in the August General Election.

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) chairman Wafula Chebukati on Wednesday said the commission was reviewing the submitted rules.

“The Commission is in the process of reviewing the nomination rules submitted by 67 registered political parties to ensure compliance with the prescribed guidelines and respond to the democratic principles of governance as espoused by Article 91 of the Constitution,” Mr Chebukati said.

He said that Hut Political Party — a new entity seeking registration — and the National Super Alliance (Nasa) are among political parties to have submitted their nomination rules.

“The Commission published a public notice requiring Political Parties to submit Nomination Rules by March 2, 2017,” Mr Chebukati said.

Parties are required to also submit party membership lists within the next 10 days as required by law.

“Political Parties are further reminded to submit their membership lists on or before March 19, 2017,” he added.

Many partiers have faced challenges registering members due to prohibitive registration fees.

ODM and Jubilee Party are however proceeding with the process with the former having registered close to four million new members.

“We fear many people may be left out if an alternative is not put in place to ensure all registered voters are members of various political parties,” said Mr Sammy Wakiaga who is a gubernatorial candidate in Homa Bay.

The move could derail party nominations especially in areas where certain parties have strong following but where registration has not been successful.

Partiers that submitted their regulations are: Progressive Party of Kenya, Ford-Kenya, Chama Cha Uzalendo, Democratic Congress, Kenya Social Congress, United Democratic Movement, Diligence Development Alliance, Ukweli Party and New Democrats.

Also listed as having submitted the rules are: Democratic Party of Kenya, Party of Democratic Unity, Roots Party of Kenya, Maendeleo Democratic Party, Mzalendo Saba Saba, Alternative Leadership Party of Kenya, Kenya National Democratic Alliance, People’s Party of Kenya and Empowerment and Liberation Party.

Others are Vibrant Democratic Party, Orange Democratic Movement, Alliance for Real Change, National Party of Kenya, Saba Saba Asili, Shirikisho Party of Kenya, National Democratic Movement, Social Democratic Party of Kenya, Chama Cha Mashinani and Narck Kenya among others.

Police investigate deaths of two minors in Nairobi and Meru

40 Kenyan travel exhibitors showcase in Berlin fair