62 out of 85 Nairobi MCAs sent home as Jubilee wins majority


nqvs8ovmf74krsd5990b5bc1b45e 62 out of 85 Nairobi MCAs sent home as Jubilee wins majority
County Assembly of Nairobi members at a past session. [File, Standard]

The ground has shifted in Nairobi, where 62 out of a total 85 Members of the County Assembly were trounced and sent packing by the electorate.


Decision 2017: Blatant rigging schemes in a poll that never was

It is emerging that only 24 of the MCAs from the first county government successfully defended their seats as the scales tilted in favour of Jubilee Party, which now has a House majority.

Results released by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission, show that Jubilee bagged 45 seats against National Super Alliance’s (NASA) 39. The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party got 38 seats while Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper party got one seat. The Party of Democratic Unity won the Makina ward (Kibra constituency) seat.

This means Governor-elect Mike Sonko will have an easy time implementing policies compared to when the previous regime had the majority. In 2013, the Opposition’s Coalition of Reforms and Democracy (CORD) won the majority of seats in the assembly with 43 MCAs against Jubilee’s 42.

“I am sure the MCAs will give me unequivocal support in passing policies to fix the city and restore it to its former glory,” said Sonko.

Jubilee took advantage of the Opposition fielding joint candidates in last week’s elections and won three wards in Eastleigh South, Parklands and Nairobi South – previously ODM strongholds.

The MCAs who lost their seats include Benson Amutavi of Upper Savannah, Hospital ward’s George Ochola, Jackson Gikandi (Kayole Central), minority chief whip Ngaruiya Chege (Kahawa West), Kamau Thuo (Karura) and Pius Otieno (Sarang’ombe).

Also on the list were Peter Isuha (Kangemi), Martin Karanja from Mutuini, Julius Mwaniki (Nairobi Central), Peter Oluoch of Huruma, Andrew Macharia (Mlango Kubwa), Daniel Mari from Ruai, Wilson Ochola (Utalii) and Mathare North’s Oscar Lore.

No development


Woman with disability beats six to clinch Kajiado MP seat

Others are Daniel Odhiambo (Dandora IV), Peter Gichohi of Kayole North, Jairo Atenya (Imara Daima) and Utawala’s Joash Omwenga.

Telvin Kamau, a city resident, blamed the outgoing ward reps for not fostering development in their wards and said they had also been accused of misusing public funds.

“We decided to give other people an opportunity to serve because those elected (the first time) were unable to execute their oversight duty. If they do not perform, we will vote in fresh people in the next five years,” said Mr Kamau.

Those who defied the odds to retain their seats include Elias Okumu of Kileleshwa, Abdi Guyo, Robert Mbatia (Kariobangi South), Michael Ogada (Embakasi), Kitusuru’s Alvin Olando and David Mberia (Karen).

Former city mayor Godfrey Majiwa won the Baba Dogo seat on an ODM ticket as the number of elected women MCAs increased from four to five. 

Kisumu residents kept away from streets over anxiety from delayed presidential election result

Girl was playing on a balcony when stray bullet hit her