IEBC gazettes President Uhuru’s re-election

President Uhuru Kenyatta (L) and his deputy William Ruto (R) shortly after being declared winner in 2017 presidential race.

NAIROBI, KENYA: Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati has formally gazetted the re-election President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto.

READ MORE:  Jubilee nominations in Nairobi kick off

The announcement now paves way for the swearing in of the duo.

“In exercise of the powers conferred to the commission, the Chairperson declares that Uhuru Kenyatta and William Ruto have been duly elected during election period on 8.8.2017,” reads part of the notice.

READ MORE:  Raila Odinga secretly meets Tharaka-Nithi leaders in Nairobi

Uhuru got 8,203,290 votes (54.27 percent) against Raila Odinga’s 6,762,224 votes (44.74 percent). Uhuru met the 50+1 threshold of the total votes cast and at least 25 percent of votes in 24 counties.

The 2017 General Election had a voter turnout of 79.17 percent.


How IEBC delivered the final verdict

READ MORE:  Elders' democracy kills good leadership, MP says as he quits

The other six presidential candidates got a combined percentage vote of 0.97 percent. Uhuru got over 25 percent of votes in 35 counties while Raila got 25 percent in 29 counties.

Election2017: More deaths in Nairobi slums as police stop riot in Kawangware

Insects keep on biting me, says Preacher Gilbert Deya at Kamiti prison